If you’re having trouble getting the compensation you deserve, it can have serious consequences. But unpaid wages can be even more complicated. When most people think of problems with unpaid wages, they only think about not getting the money they need to pay bills.
Not only does unpaid wages mean you don't get the money you worked for, but it can also have tax ramifications when tax season comes around. You don't get the proper documents with the correct information from your employer because they mismarked certain payments during the wrong pay period or marked overtime as bonuses.
A North Carolina unpaid wages attorney is someone who helps people when their employer has violated state or federal law. Specific laws apply to situations like how much you should be paid, when you should be paid, and for what tasks. If any of these laws are violated, and you need to seek compensation, that's where a lawyer for unpaid wages in North Carolina steps in.
An unpaid wages attorney can represent you when you fulfilled your job duties during a given pay period, but your employer did not abide by wage and hour laws. The best unpaid wages lawyer in North Carolina will file a claim with their client’s employer or sue them over things like unpaid overtime. Overtime lawyers can also help when you work overtime, and you should be given time and a half compensation according to state and federal laws, but your employer refuses.
You should consider higher a North Carolina unpaid wages lawyer if you have a problem with:
There are several ways to find an overtime attorney:
There are many ways to choose your unpaid wages attorney. Start by finding an attorney you trust and one you can afford. There are multiple fees for different attorneys, and some fee structures might be better for you than others. You also want someone you know will communicate with you regularly and keep you up to date on your case.
The most important factor when hiring an unpaid wages layer is their location. State law differs from one state to another, so finding someone who is operating from your state in your area means you have a higher likelihood of that attorney being familiar with your state’s laws. You don't necessarily want an unpaid wages attorney who only has experience operating in Ohio if you live in North Carolina.
Look into the breakdown of their practice. You might have some attorneys that handle 25% wrongful termination cases, 50% unpaid wages, and 25% percent "other." Most lawyers don't have certifications in their specialty. However, they can still be experts in their field, especially if they handle a high volume of cases related to unpaid wages.
The cost varies depending on the type of work, the experience level of the attorney representing you, the amount of work involved, and more.
You can expect an average hourly rate of around $300 for a lawyer. But the lawyer isn't the only person who works on your case. They typically delegate tasks to paralegals, legal assistants, or secretaries. The average hourly fee for a paralegal is around $100, and the hourly fee for a legal assistant or a secretary is much less.
During a consultation, you can discuss whether the law firm representing you charges a flat fee or an hourly fee.
Most of the time unpaid wages attorneys do not charge for consultations. You can discuss this with the attorney or their office before you schedule a consultation.
Hiring a lawyer can certainly be expensive, no matter what the reason. Costs will vary depending on the complexity of your issue. For this reason, you have to weigh how much you’re owed in unpaid wages or overtime against how much an attorney might cost. If your boss has shorted you $50, it might not be worth the subsequent legal costs to hire an attorney just to get $50.
This depends on how complex your case is. It also depends on how willing your employer is to respond to any legal attempt to get your money back. If you have sufficient evidence, you might be able to get a settlement within a few months, but a case can also take longer if your employer doesn't want to pay out or if you don't have evidence when you start your case.
An employer faces a penalty from the state each time they fail to pay an employee on time. Usually, the first violation is a flat fee, but any subsequent violations include a penalty charge and a percentage of the amount of money the employer withheld.