Section I-4351 - Returns and Payment of Tax, Penalty for Absorption of Tax (Louisiana Code of Regulations)

§ I-4351. Returns and Payment of Tax, Penalty for Absorption of Tax

A. General. All persons and dealers who are subject to state or local sales or use tax are required to file a tax return monthly, unless otherwise provided, and to remit the amount of tax due. Forms will be provided by the collector, and failure to receive a form will not relieve the dealer of the necessity to file and remit the tax due. For the purpose of collecting and remitting state and local sales or use tax, the dealer performs as the agent of the taxing authority.

1. After a dealer is properly registered for sales and use tax purposes, a sales tax identification number is assigned and the dealer is required to file monthly sales tax returns. Failure to file returns timely will cause the collector to issue an estimated proposed assessment. For those months when the dealer has no taxable sales or amounts to report, a return must still be filed marked "no sales or taxable amounts" and signed by the dealer. Monthly returns must be filed on or before the twentieth day of the month following the month in which the tax is due.

a. Taxpayers may request approval to file consolidated sales tax returns to report sales made from multiple locations on one consolidated monthly return.

b. The collector may require taxpayers to file separate tax returns if the taxpayer is located within a tax increment financing zone or in any other instance when tax data is required by taxpayer location.

2. The collector, for good cause, may extend, for a period not to exceed 30 days, the time for making any returns required under Chapter 2 of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended, or the Uniform Local Sales Tax Code. Failure of the dealer to abide by the agreement and file returns and remittances as required will result in an immediate cancellation of the extension agreement by the collector .

3. The tax computed to be due by the dealer is payable at the time the return is due, and failure to do so will cause the secretary to issue a 30-day demand assessment as provided in R.S. 47:1568(B). Failure to file the returns on or before the due date, will subject the dealer to delinquency charges, loss of vendor's compensation and other charges as provided by law. See R.S. 47:1519 for information on electronic funds transfers (EFT).

4. Gross proceeds from rentals or leases shall be reported on the appropriate line of the return, and the tax shall be paid with respect thereto, unless an exemption is specifically authorized and explained on the return. Rental and lease proceeds shall be reported on the twentieth day of the month following the monthly or quarterly reporting period in which the proceeds were actually collected by the dealer, regardless of the period in which the lease or rental occurred.

5. The dealer is compensated for accounting for and remitting the state sales or use tax at the rate established by R.S. 47:306. Local ordinances govern the rate of compensation, if any, for accounting for and remitting local sales or use tax . The amount of compensation is computed by multiplying the rate by the amount of tax due and deducting that amount from the total tax accounted for and payable to the collector, before taking credit for taxes already paid to a wholesaler.

6. Except as provided in R.S. 47:304(F)(1), R.S. 47:337.17(F)(1), and LAC 61:I.4311.C, dealers or sellers must separately list the sales tax from the price paid by the purchaser. Otherwise, the absorption of the tax by any retailer, wholesaler, manufacturer, or other supplier shall be punished in accordance with R.S. 47:304(F)(3) and R.S. 47:337.17(F)(3).

B. Exceptions. Not all dealers are required to file returns on a monthly basis.

1. After registration, all dealers will be required to file monthly tax returns.

2. Quarterly Filing. Solely for state sales or use tax purposes, after the dealer has filed tax returns for a few months and it is determined that their tax liability averages less than $500 per month, the dealer will be notified and required to file returns quarterly.

a. It is not necessary to apply for quarterly filing because once a determination is made by the secretary that quarterly filing is appropriate, the dealer will be notified.

b. Quarterly returns must be filed on or before the twentieth day of the first month of the next succeeding quarter.

c. Any dealer required to file on a quarterly basis, may apply for approval to file and pay taxes on a monthly basis.

i. Requests to file monthly must include justification for the exception.

ii. Monthly filing requests must be approved before the dealer may begin filing monthly.

d. Solely for filing local sales or use tax retuR.S. rns, 47:337.18(A)(1)(b)(i) requires dealers to file their tax returns quarterly if their tax due averages less than $30 per month.

3. Irregular Filing. Dealers with occasional sales or use tax purchases may apply for approval to file and pay taxes on an irregular filing basis.

a. Sales and use tax returns must be filed on or before the twentieth day of the month following the month in which the taxable transaction occurred.

b. Each line of the tax return must be completed and all nontaxable amounts should be identified.

4. Alternate Filing Periods

a. Dealers must apply for approval to file sales tax returns using an alternate method.

b. Approval will only be granted if the total filings do not exceed 12 filings in a 12-month period.

c. The number of short periods during a year must be greater than or equal to the number of long periods during that same year.

d. At the beginning of each year the dealer must, after obtaining approval for the alternate period filing method, file with the collector a calendar for the year showing the alternative filing periods for that year. Amendments to approved calendars must be submitted for approval prior to the affected periods. The taxpayer's account will be reviewed to determine if the taxpayer has correctly filed returns, according to the calendar submitted at the beginning of the year. If the taxpayer does not follow the approved alternate filing method, the returns for the year under review will be converted to a calendar month basis and the taxpayer's request to use an alternate period filing method for the subsequent year will be denied. Alternate period returns must be filed on or before the twentieth day following the close of the alternate filing period. Failure to file on or before this date will subject the dealer to delinquency charges, loss of vendor's compensation, and other charges as prescribed by law.

C. Advance Sales Tax. R.S. 47:306(B) was amended in 1965, to require all manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, suppliers, and brokers of tangible personal property to collect an advance payment of state sales or use tax on sales of all tangible personal property, and such payment is required only as a means of facilitating collection of the sales tax. Previous to this amendment, such sales of tangible personal property were considered exempt for taxation since under the statute, wholesale sales were not taxable. Accordingly, these new dealers were required to register with the secretary in order to collect and remit advance state sales or use tax from the sale of all tangible personal property made to retail dealers who resell the property to final users and consumers. The advance payment of the state sales or use tax is required upon all sales of tangible personal property to other dealers unless, specifically exempted by statute, or Form LGST9 is obtained and kept on file by the dealer making the sale. Exemption certificate LGST9 will only be recognized if the dealer making the purchase of tangible personal property states that the purchases are for resale or further processing by wholesale dealers and manufacturers. Those businesses purchasing property for resale that qualify as "wholesale dealers" can be exempted from the payment of the advance state sales or use tax .

1. A Wholesale Dealer is defined as one where 50 percent or more of his sales do not constitute retail sales as defined in the sales tax law. Sales made in interstate commerce (sales where property is delivered by the seller outside the state) do not constitute retail sales. R.S. 47:306 also provides exemptions for dealers in motor vehicles subject to license and title; lumber dealers; farm implement dealers; and mobile, motorized, self-propelled, earth moving and construction equipment dealers. Sales made to industrial users and/or to contractors are also added towards the 50 percent criteria for qualification as a wholesale dealer.

2. Manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, suppliers, and brokers of tangible personal property are required under this Section to report all sales made within the period of a calendar month or approved alternative filing period, and to remit the advance retail dealers' sales tax on their returns filed with the department. The department is not concerned with credit terms extended by manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, suppliers and brokers to their customers. The question of when the wholesaler should collect the advance sales tax is dependent upon the policy of the seller.

3. All dealers who have paid advance sales tax to a manufacturer, wholesaler, jobber, or supplier shall deduct from the total tax collected by them upon the retail sale of the commodity, the amount of advance sales tax paid, provided tax paid invoices evidencing the payments are retained by the dealer claiming the refund or credit. If the advance tax so paid during any reporting period amounts to more than the tax collected by him for that period, the excess so paid shall be reported on the return as a credit. Each such credit return shall be accounted for independently by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, and a refund shall be issued to the dealer for each such credit return. In no case may the credit be applied against the taxes due for any other period, unless the credit is applied under the direction of the secretary.

4. Manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, and suppliers collecting advance sales taxes are entitled to vendor's compensation at the rate established by R.S. 47:306. The amount of compensation is computed as a percentage of the taxes so collected and remitted to the secretary, provided the return and payment are timely filed.

5. Parishes, municipalities, school boards, and other local governing bodies, except hereinafter set forth, which levy a sales tax are hereby prohibited from requiring manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, or suppliers to collect such taxes in advance from dealers to whom they sell.

6. The parish, municipal, school board or other local governing bodies of the parish in which the state capitol is located, Caddo Parish or any other parish having a population in excess of 200,000 are authorized to require manufacturers, wholesalers, jobbers, and suppliers to collect the taxes levied by them in advance from dealers to whom they sell provided the dealers and wholesalers, manufacturers, jobbers, and suppliers are domiciled in said parish. Such advance collections shall be subject to the same laws, rules, and regulations as are applicable to advance collections of state sales taxes; provided, however, that the taxes so collected shall be remitted to the parish, municipal, school board, or other local governing authority imposing the tax.

(Promulgated by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Section, LR 13:107 (February 1987), amended by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Division, LR 22:852 (September 1996), amended by the Department of Revenue, Sales Tax Division, LR 23:1530 (November 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 30:2868 (December 2004), LR 31:1101 (My 2005), LR 32:111 (January 2006), LR 33:1877 (September 2007).)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 47:306, R.S. 47:337.2, R.S. 47:337.18, and R.S. 47:1511.

Disclaimer: This content is regularly reviewed to ensure the information is current and accurate. However, Section I-4351 Returns and Payment of Tax, Penalty for Absorption of Tax may have been updated since our last review. For the latest version of all legislation, please check the official resources.

We use Cookies to make Your experience on the Portal greater. To learn more about Cookies we use, please read Our Cookie Policy. Do you allow us to use Cookie?
Learn more Accept Cookies